YHT Board

Founder and Chairman
TMU-01Dr. Thant Myint-U is a historian and author of multiple books on Myanmar. Educated at Harvard and Cambridge Universities, he taught history for several years as Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge. He served on three United Nations peacekeeping operations and with the United Nations Secretariat in New York, including as the Chief of Policy Planning in the Department of Political Affairs. In addition to his work with the Yangon Heritage Trust, he is also a Special Advisor to the Myanmar Peace Centre, and a member of the (Myanmar) National Economic and Social Advisory Board.
Director and Vice Chairman
MM-06Daw Moe Moe Lwin was trained in architecture and settlement planning and design at the Rangoon Institute of Technology and received an M.Sc in Urban Planning from the Asian Institute of Technology, Bangkok. She practiced as an architect for 22 years, and as of 2001 served as a Partner at Living Design Architects and Planners. She also manages Sar-Oke-Zay Publishing House and has published a variety of books, including the art and architecture magazine Ywet-Nu-Wai. Since 2009, she has served as the General Secretary of the Association of Myanmar Architects and the Secretary of the Board of Architects.


U Moe Kyaw web photoBorn and educated in the United Kingdom, U Moe Kyaw returned to Myanmar in 1990 determined to be an entrepreneur. He is the Managing Director of the Myanmar Marketing Research and Development Company, currently employing over 550 people. He is also a member of the National Economic and Social Advisory Council and the Executive Committee member of the Union of Myanmar Federation of Chambers of Commerce and Industry.


CKLDaw Chaw Kalyar is a Partner Architect at Statement Architecture + Design and former Joint Secretary of the Association of Myanmar Architects. She received a Bachelor in Architecture in 2001 from the Yangon Institute of Technology and her Master of Science in Architecture in Environmental Design of Buildings from Cardiff University in the UK as a Chevening Fellow. She has been working on topics at the nexus of environment and architectural design since 1997 and started her own private practice Statement Architecture and Design in 2008.
Other Board Members
Daw Melinda Tun
Dr Myo Thant
U Phyoe Wai Yar Zar
U Saw Htwe Zaw
U Sun Oo
Dr Thant Thaw Kaung
U Tin Maung Thann
Daw Wint Wint Htet Hlaing

Comments are closed.